When Small is Big: A Day at Child Haus

Quick Post:

Last April 27, 2013, Saturday, I, together with ONE Beat, was given the opportunity to minister to cancer patients at Child Haus, a temporary shelter for indigent patients from the different provinces who have cancer or other dreaded diseases and have no place to stay in Metro Manila while undergoing medical evaluation or treatment.

The sudden out pour and the electricity black out didn’t stop us from bringing smiles to the kids by simply treating them to ice cream and fun games. It was heartwarming to see the delight on the children’s faces.

Memories of Nursing days in the cancer ward of a children’s hospital rushed in. I wondered, how are they? How did their treatment go? Are they in cured, in remission or never got to see a new year? Again, like in those days, the feeling of helplessness flooded me.

The facility was good. The founders were so noble to think of such. Thank God for sponsors. But those children in Child Haus needs more help. They need more sponsors for their on-going chemotherapy, for surgeries, for diagnostic procedures, for basic everyday needs and more.

The ghost of helplessness pounded on me: Do you think your ice cream and toys will do so much?

I know it won’t in the same way that the hours I spent caring for the children with cancer five years ago didn’t change their condition. But seeing joy in their eyes during those moments reminded me that there is HOPE. That the little things we do and the constant hugs we give, reminds them they are loved and cared for. And it means a lot to them. Those little things help them to want to keep on going, to fight the battle.

At Child Haus, I met Ate Analiza and her 1 and 1/2 year-old daughter with a kind of neural tube defect called encephalocele. The neural tube failed to close thus causing a protrusion down the skull. They came from Quezon Province and while here at Manila, they are raising funds for her surgery which will cost P 100,000.

Sigh, I wished I was rich so I could help Baby Liana. But I was just reminded of the verse:

“So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 41:10

God will help them! I asked if I could pray for them and Baby Liana, she said yes. What a wonderful opportunity it was. I also asked if I could have our picture taken and post it here in my blog.

Liana and Ate Analiza
Liana and Ate Analiza

If after reading this, you find a desire in your heart to help them in any way, please contact her at 0948-286-6676.

Small things can make a big difference.

Please continue to keep them and the other kids at Child Haus in your prayers.

Leave a Reply

