What to offer God?

Last Friday, Victory concluded its annual 5-day Prayer and Fasting. A lot of churches, not just in the Philippines but around the world, do this once or twice a year.

To fast is to abstain from something. Every year, I do a mixed type of fast. There are days I skip one or two meals. On some days, I totally abstain from solid food, just living on water, juice, and/or hot choco.

Pag may bagong tao sa buhay ko na nakakaalam tungkol sa prayer and fasting, nawiwindang siya. “Hindi ka kumakain? Grabe! Hindi ko kaya yun…”

First off, prayer AND fasting is more than just skipping meals or starving yourself. So, what is it, really?

When you fast, you can do it for a variety of reasons: to lose weight and… um… to lose weight. Unconsciously, people who works too much that they don’t even stop to eat, they’re actually fasting. We fast when we go to bed at night. 6-8 hours pass by without us having to eat. That’s why almusal is called breakfast. We break our fast.

But when you fast AND pray, that’s an act of surrender and humility before God. It’s saying, “Lord, I want you more than food or anything that gratifies but doesn’t satisfy.” It can be something else like coffee, junkfood, chocolate, ice cream, TV, Facebook, etc. You devote your time to pray and meditate on God’s word found in the Bible. You let Him align your will according to His and not the other way around.

Hindi ko rin kaya ang prayer and fasting… on my own. It takes the divine provision of God’s grace and strength to keep me sane for those 5 days. But every year, I am always excited to let and watch God bring me through not only for the entire week but for the entire year.

As I’ve mentioned in my Umayos ka post, I let God do a de-cluttering session with me especially during the fasting.

For 5 years, I’ve experienced breakthroughs upon breakthroughs as He moved in and through my life. This year, He was up to more than organizing the interior design of my life. He was after giving my life a total makeover by smashing the thickened walls of my heart and putting up a new one.

For this year, the major lesson He taught me is this. Kung may dapat i-take down notes, eto yun:

God doesn’t want us to be hypocrites when we fast (Read Matthew 6:16-18). He doesn’t need us to tear our clothes but to tear our hearts.

King David said:

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Psalm 139:23-24

Ialay natin ang puso natin sa Panginoon. Ito ang gusto niya, higit sa mga magaganda, mabubuti, at kagila-gilalas na bagay na kaya nating gawin sa para sa Kanya.

image
credit: vonbeau.com

PUSO. Iyan lang ang kailangan Niya.

2 thoughts on “What to offer God?

Leave a Reply

